Artist statement.

My response to ‘The City’ brief was to capture the people of Plymouth in my imagery. Due to my curiosity, empathy and passion for documentary Photography, I photographed individuals in their daily routines, covering a range of lifestyles (using a Sigma 30mm f1.4 lens to produce a shallow depth of field). I wanted the settings as well as the sitters to speak through the images, showing the Plymouth culture and the individuals personalities. Looking past initial impressions, I took the time to observe the subjects and engage with them during the shooting process.

I loved exploring the city and growing my confidence by talking to new people and finding out their passions and life in this city.

My final images encompass a variety of elements of the city of Plymouth, some of which are unspoken. Its maritime heritage, hard working people, love of food, variety of nature and many leisure opportunities are all underlying somewhere in the portraits I created.

-Harriet Williams

Leave a Reply

