Project conclusion.

As with most projects, this one took an unexpected turn. I thought after the previous shoot that I could wrap up this series of images as a conclusion. However, life happened and I was forced to extend this project. I couldn’t leave it how it was as there was so much happening in my life and I felt that I needed to represent this change in my images.

The following images were taken at my new house near Castle Douglas, Scotland. I’m in the process of moving there with my partner. Away from my family, the place I call home and everything that is familiar to me.

Contact sheets.

ContactSheet-s001ContactSheet-s002ContactSheet-s003

222933714

You will notice that there are only 5 images here. This feels like a project I will be continuing with for a long time. I have so much of Scotland left to explore. So many other places which will soon feel more like home to me. Our bungalow in the countryside felt like the best place to start and this is where these images were taken.  These images show a new beginning, excitement and anticipation as well as a longing for home and family.

I continued using my iPhone 7 to capture these images. It kept it feeling natural and informal which is what I wanted to achieve with this project.

“Art today needs to address how the visual world beyond art comes to shape any resemblances of the world, and photographic images are central to this, active across every sphere of contemporary life. Through strategies of dissemblance, art photography questions these resemblances and sometimes turns them inside out, using the very same apparatus that created them. Photographic interventions in art are multiple and diverse, eclectic even, and art is unthinkable now without them.” David Bate – Art Photography

“What i like about photographs is that they capture a moment that’s gone forever, impossible to reproduce.” – Karl Lagerfeld – Head designer and creative director of Chanel.

“All photographs are memento mori. To take a photograph is to participate in another person’s (or thing’s) mortality, vulnerability, mutability. Precisely by slicing out this moment and freezing it, all photographs testify to time’s relentless melt.” – Susan Sontag

 

Leave a Reply

