Proposal & Initial Research.

I have many different passions and obsessions but I wanted to focus on one which is very close to my heart. My faith. This is something that shapes who I am and what I do. However, many people have what I believe is the wrong idea of Christianity. I think many people focus on religion – a set of rules and a judgemental state of mind. However, I want to portray in my images my relationship with God and the church. ‘A church is not a museum for good people, it’s a hospital for the broken’ – Jefferson Bethke.

I haven’t been able to find many photographers who are Christian or who attempt to capture their faith in a way that I connect with. However, this is what I did find.

Thomas Merton was a Trappist monk, known primarily for his writings on spirituality and the contemplative life and his autobiography, The Seven Storey Mountain.

picture1

Jim Grover recently won the ‘faith through a lens’ competition with his image of communion being given to a parishioner.

picture2

Jacob a. Riis was a photographer who’s ‘intentions weren’t fame, but to change the world’. ‘How the other half lives: studies among the tenements of new york’ was a result of his time in New York with the immigrants and homeless and was published in 1870.

picture3

Leave a Reply

