Sally Wilson – Who killed the world?

WHO KILLED THE WORLD

Who flew on a plane?

Who made acid rain?

Who was it tained

What nature painted?

Who killed the world?

You did.

You did.

You did.

Who built the power lines?

Who dropped the landmines?

Who devastated

What nature created?

Who killed the world?

You did.

You did.

You did.

Who chopped down the trees?

Who poisoned the seas?

There’s no solution

To your pollution.

Who killed the world?

You did.

You did.

You did.

Who knew it was wrong?

Who still carried on?

Now each child counts the cost

Of a future they lost.

Who killed their world?

You did.

You did.

You did.

image2.jpeg

When I was deciding how to approach the image to go with this piece of writing, I had many ideas but none of them felt like enough. Here are the images I took whilst figuring it all out.

test shootDSC07897DSC07888DSC07965DSC07941DSC07937DSC07929DSC07927DSC07965DSC07941DSC07937DSC07929DSC07927

For my final image, I decided to stick with the glass world globe as I felt it shows the world to be delicate and fragile. It also reflects beauty in light and I felt it helped me to create my strongest image. I felt that my final image needed the human influence in it to show that it is us that has ‘killed the world’. I also kept the background black to show darkness and the state the world is in. I wanted the hand to hold the globe carefully to enhance the idea that the world is fragile and I think the fact that the globe is smaller than the hand shows how much control and power we have over the world and its condition. I like how in this image, the setting I was in reflected trees from the surroundings onto the globe as this is mentioned in the piece of writing too.

DSC07916.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

